teoppoet -- poetteop

CÉSAR VALLEJO
1892-1938

BLACK STONE OVER A WHITE STONE
(Translation by Andres Rojas)

I will die in Paris in a rainstorm,
on a day I already remember.
I will die in Paris – and by this I stand –
perhaps on a Thursday, like today, in the fall.

A Thursday it will be, because today, a Thursday
spent belaboring these verses, I’ve worn my arm bones
with ill humor, and never as today have I,
in all my journeys, found myself so alone again.

César Vallejo is dead. Everyone beat him
without him doing anything to them;
they struck him hard with a club, and hard

also with a rope; these bear witness:
all Thursdays and arm bones,
loneliness, rain, journeys…

PIEDRA NEGRA SOBRE UNA PIEDRA BLANCA

Me moriré en París con aguacero,
un día del cual tengo ya el recuerdo.
Me moriré en París -y no me corro-
tal…

Δείτε την αρχική δημοσίευση 906 επιπλέον λέξεις

