Day gaze
By Nikos Voutsinas

I have nothing to add
In all that was said
In all that rolled scratching the flesh of the stone
In all that with fury was grabbed from its roots
And lived
In all that with its claws incised the starry night
While falling

I have come to expect nothing
I found the eagle-morphic soils lying on the fields
In the shadow of noon with a wheat ear hanging in my mouth
I found the poppies the myrtles and the asphodels
The color that the olive tree dyes against the sea
And Alexandria’s perfumes
sealed in a bronze
Amphora (ink-well)

I have nothing to believe in
I saw a cloud without sky above
Beaten by God like dog, day and night
I saw the wrath rivers of men
Turned into fuel woods in exchange of a piece of bread
I saw Love dropping down its arms
I saw the rustling of the leaves
Unheard
I saw the tombs

I saw all kinds of transactions

I have nothing to know
I walked among the houses’ yards
Along the wounded citrus trees and the flowers
I shaped and baked the tears for those missing
From every feast
I stood on the ruins of stones and looked back
I ate and drank with all of you

I have nothing to subtract
Neither leaves nor pain
Nor anything

Translated By Strates Fabbros

-στ’ αγνάντι-
Δεν έχω να προσθέσω τίποτα
σ’ ό,τι ειπώθηκε
σ’ ό,τι κύλησε γδέρνοντας τη σάρκα της πέτρας
σ’ ό,τι γραπώθηκε με λύσσα απ’ τις ρίζες του
κι έζησε
σ’ ό,τι χάραξε με τα νύχια του την έναστρη νύχτα

πέφτοντας

Δεν έχω να περιμένω τίποτα
βρήκα τ’ αετόμορφα χώματα ξαπλωμένα στους αγρούς
μεσημέρια μ’ ένα στάχυ στο στόμα
βρήκα τις παπαρούνες τις μυρτιές και τ’ ασπάλαθα
το χρώμα που ποτίζει η ελιά αντίκρυ απ’ τη θάλασσα
και της Αλεξάνδρειας
τ’ αρώματα
σφραγισμένα καλά μέσα σ’ ένα μπρούτζινο
μελανοδοχείο

Δεν έχω να πιστέψω σε τίποτα
είδα ένα σύννεφο χωρίς Ουρανό
να το δέρνει ο Θεός σα σκυλί μέρα-νύχτα
είδα τα οργισμένα ποτάμια των ανθρώπων
να γίνονται κούτσουρα για ένα κομμάτι ψωμί
είδα τον Έρωτα να ρίχνει τα όπλα κατάχαμα
είδα το θρόισμα των φύλλων
ανήκουστο
είδα τους τάφους

όλων των ειδών τις συναλλαγές

Δεν έχω να γνωρίζω τίποτα
περπάτησα στις αυλές των σπιτιών
με τις πληγωμένες νεραντζιές και τα άνθη
ζύμωσα και φούρνισα δάκρυα για κείνους που έλειπαν
από κάθε γιορτή
στάθηκα στις ρημαγμένες πέτρες και κοίταξα πίσω μου

έφαγα και ήπια
με Όλους σας

Δεν έχω να αφαιρέσω τίποτα
ούτε φύλλα ούτε πόνο
ούτε τίποτα

Νίκος Βουτσινάς

cropped-9938_10200500916399553_897109940_n.jpg

